Ruger Guns - Impact Guns

  
Federal Ammo - Impact Guns

Recently Viewed
Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle, 308, W/Detachable Magazine

Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle, 308, W/Detachable Magazine

MANUFACTURER NO: 6803
Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle, 308, 10 Round Detachable Mag
ITEM #: 736676068036
More Items From: Ruger
DETAILS SPECIFICATIONS REVIEWS SHIPPING
Reviewed by 14 customer  
nice comfort rifle, April 23, 2013
I purchased the scout with no thought whatsoever of homage to Col. Cooper or to any prior scout rifle concepts. Though I served 25 years as a tanker and attack helicopter pilot, the appeal of the rifle when I first saw it was simple appreciation of what looked like a fun, flexible, handy firearm. I had just given my pre-64 model 70 to my USCG daughter and had the urge for another .308. The bolt, flash hider, rail, iron sights and box magazine sealed the deal. I added a normal scope on an XS rail, put a butt/cheek pad and sling on it and enjoy just looking at the thing. It is equipped with a wicked bright LED light and will wear a compensator by weeks end. Purists, I suspect, would not like my addition of weight and gadgets. Regardless, it is a lot cheaper to shoot than my rarely used .338 LaPua and provides a more satisfying thump than my .223. Actually, range time usually involves only the GSR, my Savage 93 in 22 magnum and a fun, trusty, Remington nylon 66 in 22 LR. I live in Florida, not much of a hunter, don't have easy access to much beyond 300 yards and suspect I will not get a US Olympic bid for precision competition. All the more reason to have some fun, durable and reliable firearms. Ruger, in my view, came up with a real winner in the GSR. An easy rifle to personalize and easy to live with (daughter has already put claim on it).
By shotgun18 from west central florida
Best of the bunch, March 21, 2013
Excellent craftsmanship, although a bit on the heavy side it is maneuverable and holds well for follow up shots. I put a VX-R 3x9 Leupold scope on it, and it will absolutely drive tacks at 200-300 yards. I want to get a nightforce 1000 yard scope and try for some real distance with it. I am shooting 168 gr BTHP sierra bullets, and groups are inside a 3 inch hole at 250 yards. The adjustable pull length is phenomenal .. a GREAT IDEA. With a safari sling it is good for off hand shots, but with a 9-13 bipod it is crack shot. I did have to put the full length picatinny rail on it to accommodate the chosen scopes, but a scout battle scope will work well on the original. The full length rail does get hit by the ejected brass, but no loss of function is noted. Overall, this Ruger Scout is a DREAM gun .. look no further, period.
By Robert Seddon from Mineral, Va.
Ruger Scout Rifle, December 07, 2012
Just picked up my new scout rifle from the great people at Impact a couple of weeks ago. Took it to the range, what can I say but it's already my favorite bolt gun. For sure a keeper.
By Tony P from Herriman Utah
Great Rifle, November 18, 2012
So far a 5 out of 5. Would have liked Ruger to supply all the allen wrenches necessary. Think it would have been nice if the two allen bolts in the bottom would have been come in as a standard screwdriver type but doesn't in any way affect the overall performance of the gun. Light recoil for a light gun, great feel, love the length of pull adjustment. Have only shot with the iron sights but they are great and they do keep the rounds close together. I suspect that with a scope everything would be under an inch. No issues with the mag, it sets in firm and feeds very well. Has been a real pleasure to carry and shoot, especially in comparison with my old Rem 700 VLS. Will be taking out deer hunting in two weeks, can hardly wait.
By Jim from western KS
Incredible, November 06, 2012
Incredible rifle, will shoot any type of round but you must have the following: Ruger polymer mag: better feeding but will like more rounds in it. XS sight rail: Add extension of Picatinny rail Quick release scope mount: make it easy to change scope with out loosing alignment. Good check rest Galico Safari sling
By Carl from Orlando, FL
Scout Rifle, May 15, 2012
Having placed four orders thus far with your company, the prices are tough to beat and the process could not be easier. My questions were quickly and competently answered and the FFL finder is way cool. There's three great transfer contacts practically here in my neighborhood.
By Kev from OH
Amazing!, November 28, 2011
Absolutely in love with this rifle. The action is silky smooth and for a .308, the recoil isn't that bad at all. It was beautiful right out of the box. The iron sights were dead on and fired tight groups. Cant wait to mount my scope and get sighted in. Couldn't ask for more with the weapon!!
By Greg from Pooler, GA
I LOVE this rifle!!!, October 20, 2011
I love everything about this rifle. I took it to the range and fired 20 rounds brass case Federal .308 cal no problems. It is a tack driver! I fired 2 boxes of Russian ammo was accurate but hard to extract. Don't use cheap Russian steel case ammo. Just use good brass case ammo like Federal, Winchester, etc... Recoil was LIGHT for .308 I love the looks and finish of the gun. The black finish is almost a purple hard to describe the color exactly.. It is a VERY nice looking rifle. My favorite bolt action rifle! You have to get this rifle! I know you will love it! Great 10 round mags are just awesome.
By Joi from TX
I'm impressed, June 22, 2011
Great rifle for the money in my opinion. It comes with good iron sights which I think every rifle should have as a backup. Comes with Ruger scope rings for mounting a traditional hunting scope and they are high quality. You will need to by rings for a scout scope if you choose to mount one however the picatinny rail is installed. 10 round magazine, spacers for adjusting the length of pull. The flash suppressor is a little "tacticool" but it's a .308 with a 16.5" barrel! if ever a rifle needed one this is it. So far I love it to death. It has a gorgeous stock and it looks like a custom rifle, it really does. The recoil is a little intense, but truth be told I kinda like it. Rugers sales pitch "the one rifle to have if you could only have one" is cheesy but spot on. Your options for choosing your sighting system are limitless out of the box. You could configure this with a scout scope, a red dot, or a traditional hunting scope. I'm getting a 2x20 Nikon scout/pistol scope for it. I've already got a Nikon 3-9x40 on my .22 but with a flathead screwdriver and 10 minutes I could put it on this one. Very versatile.
By Ben from WA
Like It!, June 06, 2011
Just picked it up at Impact, fit and finish looks good, waiting for a scout type scope to come in. This is my first big caliber bolt rifle, I think it may be all I ever need.
By Derrick from UT
A keeper, June 01, 2011
This is actually my first rifle. I was impressed with the features/looks of the Gunsite Scout since I first saw it at the 2011 SHOT Show. I've only put about 80 rounds down range from the bench at both 50 and 100 yards. I mounted my Aimpoint T-1 and a Harris Bipod to round out this impressive little rifle. I was surprisingly able to group 7 of 10 rounds into approximately 1" at 100 yards with only the Aimpoint. The other three rounds were definitely my fault, not the rifle's nor the ammo. This isn't necessarily my typical grouping, but I believe that this rifle is quite capable of maintaing that accuracy if there were a better shooter behind the trigger. Some negatives; 1. I don't like the plastic trigger guard and magazine well because it seems cheesy and low-grade to me...but it works, so what the heck?! 2. The magazine is very loose in the mag well. I don't know if this is indicative of magazine-fed bolt guns, but I would prefer a snugger fit. As long as the mag is inserted correctly, however, I haven't experience any issues with poor feeding or the like. 3. I'm not a fan of the look of the Ruger flash hider. I'm sure it works great, I just don't quite like the aesthetics of it. I'm planning on throwing an aftermarket .30 caliber brake on there, which brings me to my next issue. 4. Since the rifle is very light, the .308 gives quite the wallop to your shoulder (so what if I'm a pansy), so I'd like to mitigate that as much as I can by purchasing an aftermarket muzzle brake. I'm thinking the Badger Thruster from what I've read on several forums. I'm also a huge fan of throwing as much unnecessary crap on firearms as possible, so just take my criticism with a grain of salt. In all, this is one fantastic value of a rifle! I, and all my gun shooting friends/colleagues, really like it. I now plan to use and abuse the holy hell out of it to give it some character.
By Jeff from Los Angeles
Great rifle, May 28, 2011
Wasn't sure if I would like this rifle, but the reviews were positive, and I needed an all around big caliber rifle, so I got a Ruger Scout rifle from Impact. I also wanted some spare magazines, they weren't in stock, but I placed an order and got them a few weeks later. I guess they are in high demand so order a few extra. Rifle is very accurate, I like way it handles. Good idea Ruger! And thanks Impact, too.
By Ronald J. from Phoenix
« Previous | PAGE1 of 2 | Next »
 
 
Select Scout Accessories - Optional

Quantity :
In Stock Now!
Ships on or before: 4/23/2014
Free Shipping
Price : $829.99  $799.99
ImpactGuns.com Shipping Options
We offer the following delivery options when you check out:
  • Ground Shipping  -  Free
  • 2-3 Day Shipping  -  $56.00
  • AK, HI, US Territories Shipping  -  $56.00
  • 1-2 Day Shipping  -  $67.00

Express orders for items available to ship the same business day must be placed by 1 PM MST. Express orders received after 1PM ready for immediate shipment will not be shipped until the following business day.

Note: Delivery times are approximate and although generally accurate are not guaranteed. FFL transfer issues may affect delivery times.

Express shipping is only available in the continental US to non-PO Box addresses. AP/FPO addresses may add to the delivery time.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE... OTHERS ORDERED
SIGN-UP FOR EMAIL ALERTS :
FOLLOW US :
WE ACCEPT :
SHIPPING :

SCANNED BY :
Security Seals